Nouvelles

Zelda The Manatee rejoint le programme Adopt-A-Manatee® du Save the Manatee Club

Jennifer Chandonnet Zelda IMG 0109 600

Ces dernières années, on sait que la lamantin femelle fréquente les Florida Keys.

POUR DIFFUSION IMMÉDIATE—3 juin 2022
Contact: media@savethemanatee.org, 407-539-0990

Photos de Zelda >>

MAITLAND, FL—Un nouveau lamantin a été ajouté au programme populaire Adopt-A-Manatee® du Save the Manatee Club. Zelda est une femelle lamantin qui a été aperçue ces dernières années dans les Florida Keys. Zelda a reçu un nom commençant par la lettre « Z » car une cicatrice distinctive sur son dos rappelait cette lettre aux chercheurs.

"Comme presque tous les autres lamantins vivants, Zelda porte des cicatrices permanentes causées par des rencontres avec des bateaux, et les chercheurs peuvent utiliser ces modèles de cicatrices pour identifier et suivre les lamantins", a déclaré Patrick Rose, biologiste aquatique et directeur exécutif du Save the Manatee Club.. "Les données de ses observations au fil des ans nous rappellent que les lamantins utilisent leur habitat dans tout l'État de Floride."

Zelda a été photographiée pour la première fois en 2002 à la centrale électrique Florida Power & Light à Fort. Myers. Au fil des années, elle a été aperçue sur toute la côte ouest de la Floride, notamment à Sarasota, Apollo Beach et Terra Ceia Bay. Récemment, elle a semblé privilégier les Florida Keys, apparaissant à Key West et Summerland Key. Fin mai, elle a été aperçue dans les Keys avec un veau nouveau-né.

Diverses organisations, dont Mote Marine Lab, le projet Sirenia de l'US Geological Survey et la Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission (FWC), ont contribué aux observations de Zelda au fil des ans. Elle a également été documentée par des membres du public qui ont soumis des informations d'observation et des photos pour inclusion dans la base de données de photoidentification individuelle des lamantins (MIPS) à l'échelle de l'État. N'importe qui peut contribuer à l'observation d'un lamantin via le Save the Manatee Club. Formulaire d'observation de lamantins.

«Je suis extrêmement heureux de voir Zelda incluse dans le programme d'adoption. Comme elle visite fréquemment mon canal, j'ai appris à me soucier tellement d'elle », a déclaré Jennifer Chandonnet, employée de la Back to the Island Society et récente bénévole pour les mammifères marins du FWC. La mission de Back to the Island, un partisan du Save the Manatee Club, est de préserver et d'honorer l'histoire, la culture et le mode de vie de Key West. « Voir Zelda et son petit si près des gens et des bateaux de ma région m'inquiète pour eux et pour la façon dont ils se débrouillent. Je veux vraiment apprendre aux autres à faire attention à elle et à tous les lamantins. J’espère que son adoption fera prendre conscience des lamantins ici dans les Keys.

Les fonds du programme Adopt-A-Manatee® soutiennent directement Save the Manatee Club dans sa mission de protection des lamantins et de leur habitat, y compris les efforts de sauvetage d'urgence, de réhabilitation et de libération ; programmes d'éducation et de sensibilisation du public; et d'autres travaux essentiels pour répondre aux crise actuelle de mortalité des lamantins dans la lagune d'Indian River. Pour Adopt-A-Manatee®, visitez adoptamanatee.org ou appeler 1-800-432-JOIN (5646).

###

Save the Manatee Club, créé en 1981 par le regretté auteur-compositeur-interprète, auteur et entrepreneur Jimmy Buffett, ainsi que par l'ancien gouverneur de Floride et sénateur américain Bob Graham, se consacre à la sauvegarde des lamantins et à la préservation de leur habitat aquatique. Pour plus d'informations sur les lamantins et les efforts du Club, visitez savethemanatee.org ou appeler 1-800-432-JOIN (5646).

Nouvelles plus récentes

A manatee on top of algae that is smothering the spring and grasses underneath. ©David Schrichte

L'été signifie qu'il est temps de ne plus utiliser d'engrais pour les lamantins afin de protéger les cours d'eau de Floride

Du 1er juin au 30 septembre, cette initiative vise à encourager les résidents de Floride à s'engager à ne pas utiliser d'engrais, réduisant ainsi leur contribution à la pollution par les nutriments des cours d'eau de l'État.

Manatees 2940

Vous partez sur l'eau ? Surveillez les lamantins.

À l'approche de la Semaine nationale de la sécurité nautique, le Save the Manatee Club exhorte les plaisanciers à respecter et à protéger les lamantins sans défense qui habitent les voies navigables.

Father's Day 2024

Pour le papa à vos côtés à chaque marée

Vous cherchez un cadeau parfait pour montrer votre appréciation pour la fête des pères ? Ne cherchez pas plus loin qu’un lamantin du programme Adopt-A-Manatee® du Save the Manatee Club.

News

Zelda The Manatee Joins Save the Manatee Club Adopt-A-Manatee® Program

Jennifer Chandonnet Zelda IMG 0109 600

In recent years, the female manatee has been known to frequent the Florida Keys

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE—June 3, 2022
Contact: media@savethemanatee.org, 407-539-0990

Photos of Zelda >>

MAITLAND, FL—A new manatee has been added to Save the Manatee Club’s popular Adopt-A-Manatee® program. Zelda is a female manatee who has been sighted in recent years in the Florida Keys. Zelda was given a name starting with the letter “Z” because a distinctive scar on her back reminded researchers of that letter.

“Like nearly every other living manatee, Zelda bears permanent watercraft scars from encounters with boats, and researchers can use those scar patterns to identify and track manatees,” said Patrick Rose, an aquatic biologist and executive director of Save the Manatee Club. “The data from her sightings over the years are a good reminder that manatees utilize habitat throughout the state of Florida.”

Zelda was first photo-documented in 2002 at the Florida Power & Light power plant in Ft. Myers. Over the years, she has been sighted throughout Florida’s west coast, including Sarasota, Apollo Beach, and Terra Ceia Bay. Recently, she has seemed to favor the Florida Keys, appearing in Key West and Summerland Key. In late May, she was spotted in the Keys with a newborn calf.

Various organizations, including Mote Marine Lab, the U.S. Geological Survey’s Sirenia Project, and the Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission (FWC), have contributed sightings of Zelda over the years. She has also been documented by members of the public who have submitted sighting information and photos for inclusion in the statewide Manatee Individual Photoidentification Database (MIPS). Anyone can contribute a manatee sighting via Save the Manatee Club’s Manatee Sighting Form.

“I am extremely excited to see Zelda included in the adoption program. As she is a frequent visitor to my canal, I have grown to care so much about her,” said Jennifer Chandonnet, an employee for Back to the Island Society and recent FWC Marine Mammal Volunteer. The mission of Back to the Island, a Save the Manatee Club supporter, is to preserve and honor the history, culture, and lifestyle of Key West. “Seeing Zelda and her calf in such close proximity to people and boats in my area makes me worry about them and how they are managing. I really want to educate others to watch out for her and all manatees. I hope her adoption raises awareness about manatees here in the Keys.”

Funds from the Adopt-A-Manatee® program directly support Save the Manatee Club in its mission to protect manatees and their habitat, including emergency rescue, rehabilitation, and release efforts; education and public awareness programs; and other critical work to address the ongoing manatee mortality crisis in the Indian River Lagoon. To Adopt-A-Manatee®, visit adoptamanatee.org or call 1-800-432-JOIN (5646).

###

Save the Manatee Club, established in 1981 by the late renowned singer-songwriter, author, and entrepreneur Jimmy Buffett, along with former Florida Governor and U.S. Senator Bob Graham, is dedicated to safeguarding manatees and preserving their aquatic habitat. For more information about manatees and the Club’s efforts, visit savethemanatee.org or call 1-800-432-JOIN (5646).

More Recent News

Father's Day 2024

For The Dad By Your Side Through Every Tide

Looking for a perfect gift to show your appreciation this Father’s Day? Look no further than a manatee from Save the Manatee Club’s Adopt-A-Manatee® program.

Manatees are herbivores, feeding on both marine and freshwater aquatic vegetation such as seagrass and other submerged, floating, and emergent plants.

Seagrass Awareness Month Brings Critical Food Source for Manatees to Center Stage

March is Seagrass Awareness Month, and there has never been a more critical time to call for everyone to contribute to the health of these vital ecosystems.

Mothers Day 2024

Celebrate Moments, Celebrate Mom By Adopting A Manatee

With Mother’s Day around the corner, Save the Manatee Club offers a meaningful gift that celebrates every kind of mom and supports manatee conservation efforts.