Nouvelles

Les bénévoles font passer le message lors des festivals des lamantins 2020

Always a crowd favorite, “Hope” the inflatable manatee makes an appearance at the Crystal River Manatee Festival.
Toujours un favori du public, « Hope », le lamantin gonflable, fait une apparition au Crystal River Manatee Festival.

Par Ally Greco, Responsable des communications et de la sensibilisation

Pour beaucoup, janvier est l’occasion de se ressourcer après une période de fêtes chargée et de se fixer des objectifs pour la nouvelle année. Pour les bénévoles du Save the Manatee Club (SMC), le mois de janvier est tout aussi chargé, avec deux grands festivals de lamantins qui ont besoin de leur aide. Cette année, les bénévoles ont assisté au Florida Manatee Festival à Crystal River, en Floride, les 18 et 19 janvier, ainsi qu'au Blue Spring Manatee Festival à Orange City, en Floride, les 25 et 26 janvier.

Les bénévoles du Save the Manatee Club (de gauche à droite) Mary Bourassa, Trinket Mason, Hailey Thomas, Karen Ann Bunce et Ben Linville ont accueilli les visiteurs au Florida Manatee Festival à Crystal River les 18 et 19 janvier. Ensemble, ils ont collecté des dons, traité les adoptions de lamantins et distribué du matériel pédagogique sur les lamantins.

Alors que les lamantins de tout l'État se rendent en hiver dans des sanctuaires d'eau chaude comme Crystal River et Blue Springs, des visiteurs de tout le pays se rendent également aux festivals des lamantins. Les deux événements ont deux sites : une zone centrale du festival et un parc avec des possibilités d'observation des lamantins. Save the Manatee Club est présent sur chaque site afin d'éduquer les visiteurs sur les lamantins et de collecter des fonds pour les efforts de conservation des lamantins.

Les bénévoles ont accueilli de grandes foules au Florida Manatee Festival à Crystal River tout au long du week-end. Au centre-ville, « Hope », le lamantin gonflable géant, a accueilli les visiteurs sous la tente du Save the Manatee Club, où ils pouvaient participer à un tirage au sort pour gagner des cadeaux SMC. À l'emplacement de la réserve faunique nationale de Crystal River, les visiteurs pouvaient voir de vrais os de lamantins et demander matériel éducatif gratuit, comme les panneaux de quai et les autocollants de bateaux.

Les bénévoles du Save the Manatee Club (de gauche à droite) Bev Oswald et Deb Brown parlent aux visiteurs du Blue Spring Manatee Festival, aux côtés de « Jessie », le lamantin en peluche, le grand prix du dessin de SMC.

Les lèche-vitrines ont visité la tente du Save the Manatee Club lors du Blue Spring Manatee Festival le samedi 25 janvier. Les bénévoles ont collecté des dons pour des sacs fourre-tout, des calendriers 2020 et des t-shirts. Des fans de lamantins de tous âges ont pu être aperçus portant des t-shirts du Save the Manatee Club tout au long du festival. Dans la rue du parc d'État Blue Spring, plus de 300 lamantins se sont rassemblés lors de la course de printemps le dimanche 26 janvier, ce qui a permis aux bénévoles de partager facilement les avantages de notre programme Adopt-A-Manatee.

Bien que parler des lamantins aux gens soit amusant, faire du bénévolat lors de ces événements implique une part de travail acharné. Les bénévoles du SMC, Karen Ann Bunce et Trinket Mason, ont assisté aux deux jours des deux festivals, aidant au transport, à l'installation et au démontage des tentes, des tables et des expositions. «C'est un véritable travail d'amour», explique Trinket. "Travailler dans des festivals est ma façon d'exprimer ma gratitude pour la chance que j'ai de pouvoir éduquer les gens sur la façon de contribuer à protéger ces merveilleux gentils géants et leur habitat."

Tout le monde était soulagé de voir un ciel ensoleillé pendant les quatre jours du festival. «J'avoue que parfois, je ne suis pas satisfaite de la météo», a déclaré Karen Ann, qui fait du bénévolat lors de nombreux événements SMC tout au long de l'année. "Mais une journée d'apprentissage et de partage d'informations sur les lamantins est une journée bien remplie."

Save the Manatee Club remercie tous les bénévoles qui ont contribué à l'éducation et à la collecte de fonds lors de ces événements phares. Si vous êtes intéressé à rejoindre l'équipe de bénévoles, veuillez remplir notre demande de bénévolat en ligne.

Merci à nos bénévoles !

Festival des lamantins de Crystal River : Trinket Mason, Karen Ann Bunce, Mary Bourassa, Hailey Thomas, Stephanie D'Amico, Steven D'Amico, Ben Linville, Cary Evans, Ellen Elting, Bob Fowler et Denise Anderson.

Festival du lamantin du printemps bleu : Deb Brown, Doug Brown, Laura Frenchik, Hailey Thomas, Andrea Swinehart, Karen Ann Bunce, Trinket Mason, Mahesh Narra, Patricia Price, Audrey DeLong, Bev Oswald et Dee Laliberte.

Nouvelles plus récentes

Una shortly before her release on September 2nd. She was treated for monofilament entanglement. Unfortunately, her flipper was severely infected and part of it had to be amputated.

Una et Maguna rentrent chez elles !

Le 2 septembre 2020, l'adoptée Una et son petit maintenant adulte ont été relâchés dans la nature par le Manatee Rescue and Rehabilitation Partnership.

An above-water photo of a manatee calf surfacing for a breath while the calf's mother is just visible below the surface behind the calf.

Un sauvetage réussi pour Siesta et sa Calf Key

À Sarasota, un résident observateur a repéré un lamantin en détresse. Un sauvetage rapide par les autorités chargées de la faune a permis de retrouver une femelle enceinte, Siesta.

This photo, taken on November 27, 2019, shows the fishing line entanglement clearly visible on Una’s flipper.

Un sauvetage réussi pour Una

Le 24 février 2020, Una, l'un des lamantins du programme d'adoption du Save the Manatee Club, et sa petite femelle ont été sauvées au Blue Spring State Park afin qu'Una puisse être emmenée pour traitement. Ses deux nageoires étaient gravement emmêlées dans des lignes de pêche.

News

Volunteers Spread the Word at 2020 Manatee Festivals

Always a crowd favorite, “Hope” the inflatable manatee makes an appearance at the Crystal River Manatee Festival.
Always a crowd favorite, “Hope” the inflatable manatee makes an appearance at the Crystal River Manatee Festival.

By Ally Greco, Communications and Outreach Manager

For many, January is a time to reset after the busy holiday season and make goals for the new year. For Save the Manatee Club (SMC) volunteers, however, January is just as busy, with two major manatee festivals that need their help. This year, volunteers attended the Florida Manatee Festival in Crystal River, FL, on January 18 and 19, as well as the Blue Spring Manatee Festival in Orange City, FL, on January 25 and 26.

Save the Manatee Club Volunteers (l-r) Mary Bourassa, Trinket Mason, Hailey Thomas, Karen Ann Bunce, and Ben Linville welcomed visitors to the Florida Manatee Festival in Crystal River on January 18th and 19th. Together, they collected donations, processed manatee adoptions, and handed out educational material about manatees.

As manatees from across the state travel to warm-water sanctuaries like Crystal River and Blue Springs in the winter, visitors from across the country also make their way to the manatee festivals. Both events have two locations: a central festival area and a park with manatee-viewing opportunities. Save the Manatee Club has a presence at each location in order to educate visitors about manatees and fundraise for manatee conservation efforts.

Volunteers handled large crowds at the Florida Manatee Festival in Crystal River throughout the weekend. Downtown, “Hope,” the giant inflatable manatee, welcomed visitors to the Save the Manatee Club tent, where they could enter a drawing to win SMC goodies. At the Crystal River National Wildlife Refuge location, visitors could see real manatee bones and request free education materials, like dock signs and boat decals.

Save the Manatee Club volunteers (l-r) Bev Oswald and Deb Brown talk to visitors at the Blue Spring Manatee Festival, alongside “Jessie” the plush manatee, the grand prize for SMC’s drawing.

Window shoppers visited the Save the Manatee Club tent at the Blue Spring Manatee Festival on Saturday, January 25. Volunteers collected donations for tote bags, 2020 calendars, and t-shirts. Manatee fans of all ages could be spotted wearing Save the Manatee Club t-shirts throughout the festival. Down the street at Blue Spring State Park, over 300 manatees gathered in the spring run on Sunday, January 26, which made it easy for volunteers to share the benefits of our Adopt-A-Manatee program.

While talking to people about manatees is fun, volunteering at these events comes with a fair share of hard work. SMC Volunteers Karen Ann Bunce and Trinket Mason attended both days of both festivals, helping to transport, set up, and break down tents, tables, and displays. “It is a true labor of love,” explains Trinket. “Working at festivals is my way of expressing appreciation for how lucky I am to be able to educate people on how to help protect these wonderful gentle giants and their habitat.”

Everyone was relieved to see sunny skies during all four festival days. “I admit I sometimes may not be happy with the weather,” said Karen Ann, who volunteers at many SMC events throughout the year. “But a day learning and sharing information about manatees is a day well spent.”

Save the Manatee Club thanks all the volunteers who helped educate and fundraise at these signature events. If you are interested in joining the volunteer team, please fill out our online volunteer application.

Thank You To Our Volunteers!

Crystal River Manatee Festival: Trinket Mason, Karen Ann Bunce, Mary Bourassa, Hailey Thomas, Stephanie D’Amico, Steven D’Amico, Ben Linville, Cary Evans, Ellen Elting, Bob Fowler, and Denise Anderson.

Blue Spring Manatee Festival: Deb Brown, Doug Brown, Laura Frenchik, Hailey Thomas, Andrea Swinehart, Karen Ann Bunce, Trinket Mason, Mahesh Narra, Patricia Price, Audrey DeLong, Bev Oswald, and Dee Laliberte.

More Recent News

Una shortly before her release on September 2nd. She was treated for monofilament entanglement. Unfortunately, her flipper was severely infected and part of it had to be amputated.

Una and Maguna Go Back Home!

On September 2, 2020, adoptee Una and her now-grown calf were released back into the wild by the Manatee Rescue and Rehabilitation Partnership.

An above-water photo of a manatee calf surfacing for a breath while the calf's mother is just visible below the surface behind the calf.

A Successful Rescue for Siesta and Her Calf Key

In Sarasota, an observant resident spotted a distressed manatee. A swift rescue by wildlife authorities led to the recovery of a pregnant female, Siesta.

This photo, taken on November 27, 2019, shows the fishing line entanglement clearly visible on Una’s flipper.

A Successful Rescue for Una

On February 24, 2020, Una, one of the manatees in Save the Manatee Club’s adoption program, and her female calf were rescued at Blue Spring State Park so Una could be taken in for treatment. She had severe fishing line entanglement on both her flippers.