Nouvelles

Sécurité nautique en été pour les lamantins et les plaisanciers

Because imperiled manatees are generally slow-moving and must surface to breathe air, they are especially vulnerable to collisions with fast-moving watercraft. Boat accidents are the primary cause of human-related manatee deaths.
Étant donné que les lamantins en péril se déplacent généralement lentement et doivent faire surface pour respirer de l'air, ils sont particulièrement vulnérables aux collisions avec des embarcations rapides. Les accidents de bateau sont la principale cause de décès de lamantins d'origine humaine.

POUR DIFFUSION IMMÉDIATE—20 mai 2021
Contact: media@savethemanatee.org, 407-539-0990

Save the Manatee Club est fier d'être partenaire de la Semaine nationale de la sécurité nautique, du 22 au 28 mai, lancement officiel de la campagne de sécurité nautique 2021. Cette campagne d'un an fait la promotion de la sécurité en matière de navigation de plaisance, notamment en portant un gilet de sauvetage et en ne naviguant pas sous l'influence de l'alcool. Save the Manatee Club utilise également la campagne, qui démarre la semaine précédant le week-end du Memorial Day, pour rappeler aux plaisanciers les conseils de navigation en toute sécurité avec les lamantins.

Pendant l'été, les lamantins se trouvent dans les estuaires peu profonds, les baies, les rivières, les canaux et les zones côtières de la Floride et des États voisins, le plus souvent en Géorgie, en Caroline du Sud et en Alabama. Étant donné que les lamantins en péril se déplacent généralement lentement et doivent faire surface pour respirer de l'air, ils sont particulièrement vulnérables aux collisions avec des embarcations rapides. Les accidents de bateau sont la principale cause de décès de lamantins d'origine humaine. Selon la Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission (FWC), la plupart des décès de lamantins dus à des collisions avec des embarcations sont causés par un impact contondant, ce qui signifie que la vitesse à laquelle les plaisanciers se déplacent provoque des frappes avec une force mortelle. Les lamantins qui survivent portent les cicatrices de leurs blessures. En fait, la plupart des lamantins vivants portent une sorte de cicatrice causée par une collision avec un bateau.

Regardez notre vidéo pour obtenir quelques conseils rapides sur la façon de protéger les lamantins en navigation de plaisance.

Ces accidents tragiques peuvent être évités grâce à l'éducation, à la sensibilisation et aux soins de la communauté nautique. Les « zones de lamantins » affichées à vitesse lente indiquent la présence probable de lamantins et doivent être parcourues avec précaution. Les guides du plaisancier répertorient généralement l'emplacement des zones de lamantins et peuvent être consultés avant chaque excursion en bateau. En plus d'obéir aux zones de vitesse affichées, les personnes à bord doivent surveiller les lamantins dans l'eau en portant des lunettes de soleil polarisées pour voir sous la surface de l'eau et en recherchant le museau, le dos, la queue, les nageoires ou les « empreintes » des lamantins - l'appartement. , tache circulaire sur l'eau créée par la queue en mouvement du lamantin. Suivre ces conseils, ainsi que les lignes directrices de la campagne de sécurité nautique, peut contribuer à assurer la sécurité des plaisanciers et des lamantins.

Les plaisanciers, les pagayeurs ou ceux qui passent du temps près de l'eau sont également encouragés à être une voix pour les lamantins en signalant immédiatement les lamantins blessés, mal nourris, orphelins, empêtrés, échoués ou morts au FWC ou aux responsables locaux de la faune de l'État. Les lamantins qui présentent des blessures fraîches roses ou rouges, qui respirent plus souvent que toutes les 30 secondes, ou qui sont incapables de s'immerger ou de s'incliner d'un côté, peuvent être blessés et doivent être signalés. Les plaisanciers ne doivent pas tenter de retirer eux-mêmes les enchevêtrements, tels que les lignes de pêche monofilament, les lignes de casiers à crabes ou autres débris marins, des lamantins ; ils devraient plutôt les signaler afin qu’un biologiste qualifié puisse évaluer la situation. En Floride, les plaisanciers peuvent contacter Canal VHF 16 sur leur radio maritime ou appelez le FWC au 1-888-404-FWCC (3922). Découvrez plus de conseils pour repérer et signaler les lamantins malades ou blessés sur savethemanatee.org/rescue.

Des panneaux de sensibilisation du public gratuits pour les propriétaires riverains, des autocollants imperméables pour bateaux, des cartes de conseils de protection et des bannières de navigation sont disponibles.

Save the Manatee Club propose un certain nombre de documents gratuits disponibles sur demande pour aider à protéger les lamantins et accroître la sensibilisation aux conseils de navigation en toute sécurité avec les lamantins. Les propriétaires riverains ainsi que les gestionnaires de parcs et de marinas peuvent commander des panneaux en aluminium alertant les autres de la présence de lamantins dans la zone. Et les plaisanciers et les pagayeurs peuvent demander des paquets comprenant une carte de conseils de sécurité, une bannière de bateau étanche et un autocollant à coller sur votre navire avec le numéro pour signaler les lamantins en détresse. Commandez du matériel gratuit sur savethemanatee.org/resources.

En cette Semaine nationale de la sécurité nautique, préparez-vous à un été de navigation sécuritaire pour les lamantins ainsi que pour toutes les personnes à bord. Rejoignez le Save the Manatee Club sur FacebookInstagram, et Twitter la semaine du 22 au 28 mai pour en savoir plus et vous impliquer.

###

Save the Manatee Club, créé en 1981 par le célèbre auteur-compositeur-interprète, auteur et entrepreneur Jimmy Buffett, ainsi que par l'ancien gouverneur de Floride et sénateur américain Bob Graham, se consacre à la sauvegarde des lamantins et à la préservation de leur habitat aquatique. Pour plus d'informations sur les lamantins et les efforts du Club, visitez savethemanatee.org ou appeler 1-800-432-JOIN (5646).

Nouvelles plus récentes

Father's Day 2024

Pour le papa à vos côtés à chaque marée

Vous cherchez un cadeau parfait pour montrer votre appréciation pour la fête des pères ? Ne cherchez pas plus loin qu’un lamantin du programme Adopt-A-Manatee® du Save the Manatee Club.

Manatees are herbivores, feeding on both marine and freshwater aquatic vegetation such as seagrass and other submerged, floating, and emergent plants.

Le mois de sensibilisation aux herbiers marins place une source de nourriture essentielle pour les lamantins sur le devant de la scène

Mars est le mois de la sensibilisation aux herbiers marins, et il n’y a jamais eu de moment plus critique pour appeler chacun à contribuer à la santé de ces écosystèmes vitaux.

Mothers Day 2024

Célébrez des moments, célébrez maman en adoptant un lamantin

À l'approche de la fête des mères, Save the Manatee Club offre un cadeau significatif qui célèbre tous les types de mamans et soutient les efforts de conservation des lamantins.

News

Summer Boating Safety for Manatees and Boaters Alike

Because imperiled manatees are generally slow-moving and must surface to breathe air, they are especially vulnerable to collisions with fast-moving watercraft. Boat accidents are the primary cause of human-related manatee deaths.
Because imperiled manatees are generally slow-moving and must surface to breathe air, they are especially vulnerable to collisions with fast-moving watercraft. Boat accidents are the primary cause of human-related manatee deaths.

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE—May 20, 2021
Contact: media@savethemanatee.org, 407-539-0990

Save the Manatee Club is proud to be a partner of National Safe Boating Week, May 22–28, the official launch of the 2021 Safe Boating Campaign. This yearlong campaign promotes recreational boating safety, such as wearing life jackets and not boating while under the influence of alcohol. Save the Manatee Club also uses the campaign, which kicks off the week before Memorial Day Weekend, to remind boaters of manatee-safe boating tips.

During the summer, manatees are found in shallow estuaries, bays, rivers, canals, and coastal areas throughout Florida and in neighboring states, most commonly Georgia, South Carolina, and Alabama. Because imperiled manatees are generally slow-moving and must surface to breathe air, they are especially vulnerable to collisions with fast-moving watercraft. Boat accidents are the primary cause of human-related manatee deaths. According to the Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission (FWC), most manatee deaths from watercraft collisions are caused by blunt-force impact, meaning that the speed at which boaters are traveling is causing strikes with deadly force. Those manatees that survive bear scars from their injuries. In fact, most living manatees have some sort of scar from a boat collision.

Watch our video to get a few quick tips on how to protect manatees while boating.

These tragic accidents are preventable with education, awareness, and the care of the boating community. Posted slow-speed “manatee zones” indicate the likely presence of manatees and should be navigated through carefully. Boater’s guides usually list the location of manatee zones and can be reviewed before each boat trip. In addition to obeying posted speed zones, those on board should keep a lookout for manatees in the water by wearing polarized sunglasses to see below the water’s surface and scanning for manatees’ snouts, backs, tails, flippers, or “footprints”—the flat, circular spot on the water created by the manatee’s moving tail. Following these tips, along with the Safe Boating Campaign’s guidelines, can help keep both boaters and manatees safe.

Boaters, paddlers, or those who spend time near the water are also encouraged to be a voice for manatees by immediately reporting injured, malnourished, orphaned, entangled, stranded, or dead manatees to the FWC or their local state wildlife officials. Manatees that have fresh pink or red wounds, are breathing more often than every 30 seconds, or are unable to submerge or tilting to one side, may be injured and should be reported. Boaters should not attempt to remove entanglements, such as monofilament fishing line, crab trap lines, or other marine debris, from manatees themselves; instead, they should report them so a trained biologist can assess the situation. In Florida, boaters can contact VHF Channel 16 on their marine radio or call the FWC at 1-888-404-FWCC (3922). Learn more tips on spotting and reporting sick or injured manatees at savethemanatee.org/rescue.

Free public awareness signs for shoreline property owners, waterproof boat decals, protection tips cards, and boating banners are available.

Save the Manatee Club offers a number of free materials available upon request to help safeguard manatees and increase awareness of manatee-safe boating tips. Shoreline property owners as well as park and marina managers can order aluminum signs alerting others to the presence of manatees in the area. And boaters and paddlers can request packets that include a safety tips card, a waterproof boat banner, and a decal to adhere to your vessel with the number to report manatees in distress. Order free materials at savethemanatee.org/resources.

This National Safe Boating Week, prepare for a summer of boating that’s safe for manatees as well as everyone on board. Join Save the Manatee Club on FacebookInstagram, and Twitter the week of May 22–28 to learn more and get involved.

###

Save the Manatee Club, established in 1981 by the late renowned singer-songwriter, author, and entrepreneur Jimmy Buffett, along with former Florida Governor and U.S. Senator Bob Graham, is dedicated to safeguarding manatees and preserving their aquatic habitat. For more information about manatees and the Club’s efforts, visit savethemanatee.org or call 1-800-432-JOIN (5646).

More Recent News

Father's Day 2024

For The Dad By Your Side Through Every Tide

Looking for a perfect gift to show your appreciation this Father’s Day? Look no further than a manatee from Save the Manatee Club’s Adopt-A-Manatee® program.

Manatees are herbivores, feeding on both marine and freshwater aquatic vegetation such as seagrass and other submerged, floating, and emergent plants.

Seagrass Awareness Month Brings Critical Food Source for Manatees to Center Stage

March is Seagrass Awareness Month, and there has never been a more critical time to call for everyone to contribute to the health of these vital ecosystems.

Mothers Day 2024

Celebrate Moments, Celebrate Mom By Adopting A Manatee

With Mother’s Day around the corner, Save the Manatee Club offers a meaningful gift that celebrates every kind of mom and supports manatee conservation efforts.