Nouvelles

Un accord juridique protégera l’habitat essentiel du lamantin de Floride, une espèce menacée

An image showing the Florida subspecies of the West Indian manatee.

Les responsables fédéraux conviennent que l'habitat du lamantin a besoin d'être protégé

POUR DIFFUSION IMMÉDIATE—1er juin 2022
Contact:
Ragan Whitlock, Centre pour la diversité biologique, (727) 426-3653, rwhitlock@biologicaldiversity.org
Jake Bleich, Défenseurs de la faune, (202) 772-3208, jbleich@defenders.org
Patrick Rose, Save the Manatee Club, (850) 570-1373, prose@savethemanatee.org

ST. PETERSBOURG, Floride.— Dans le cadre d'un accord juridique avec le Center for Biological Diversity, Defenders of Wildlife et Save the Manatee Club, le US Fish and Wildlife Service s'est engagé à réviser l'habitat critique du lamantin de Floride d'ici septembre 2024. L'habitat critique du lamantin n'a pas été mis à jour depuis sa désignation originale en 1976.

« La sauvegarde des lieux où vivent les lamantins contribuera à remettre ces animaux incroyablement en péril sur la voie du rétablissement » a déclaré Ragan Whitlock, un avocat basé en Floride au Centre. "Il est grand temps de protéger l'habitat de ces magnifiques créatures, mais nous sommes heureux que ces mesures de protection soient bientôt en place."

Un nombre record de 1 100 lamantins de Floride sont morts en 2021, principalement à cause de la famine causée par la pollution de l'eau du lagon d'Indian River. Cette tendance s'est poursuivie en 2022, alors que le lamantin de Floride continue de faire face à des menaces importantes pour sa survie dans le lagon et dans toute la Floride, où la prolifération d'algues nuisibles et la perte d'herbiers marins et de refuges d'eau chaude continuent de réduire son habitat.

"Cet accord est une première étape essentielle vers la fin des décès massifs de lamantins qui sont devenus trop courants le long des côtes de Floride", a déclaré Jane Davenport, avocate principale chez Defenders of Wildlife. "Une fois l'habitat critique actuel de l'espèce identifié, nous espérons que les partenaires de conservation fédéraux, étatiques et privés pourront prendre des mesures décisives pour remettre le lamantin sur la voie du rétablissement."

"Le Service a retardé la révision de l'habitat essentiel pendant une décennie, et maintenant la situation difficile du lamantin est si grave que la révision de l'habitat essentiel ne peut plus être mise en veilleuse", a déclaré Pat Rose, directeur exécutif du Save the Manatee Club. « Nous sommes heureux que le FWS soit enfin prêt à franchir cette étape essentielle pour sauver nos lamantins en péril et espérons que cela marque un changement dans la priorité accordée à la survie et au rétablissement des lamantins. »

Le Centre, avec Save the Manatee Club, Wildlife Advocacy Project et Defenders of Wildlife, a adressé une pétition au US Fish and Wildlife Service en 2008 pour qu'il révise l'habitat critique du lamantin de Floride. Le Service a conclu que des révisions de l'habitat essentiel étaient justifiées en janvier 2010, mais n'a pas pris de mesures pendant plus de 12 ans. Le Centre, Save the Manatee Club et Defenders of Wildlife ont intenté une action en justice en février 2022 pour obtenir cette action.

Les animaux dont l’habitat essentiel est protégé par le gouvernement fédéral sont deux fois plus susceptibles de progresser vers le rétablissement que les espèces qui n’en sont pas dotées. Les agences fédérales qui financent ou autorisent des projets dans l'habitat essentiel sont tenues de consulter le Service pour garantir que cet habitat n'est pas endommagé ou détruit par leurs actions.

###

Le Centre pour la diversité biologique est une organisation nationale de conservation à but non lucratif comptant plus de 1,7 million de membres et d'activistes en ligne qui se consacrent à la protection des espèces menacées et des espaces sauvages.

Save the Manatee Club est une organisation internationale à but non lucratif basée en Floride dont la mission est de protéger les lamantins et leur habitat aquatique pour les générations futures. Le Club a été fondé en 1981 par l'ancien gouverneur de Floride et sénateur américain Bob Graham et l'auteur-compositeur-interprète Jimmy Buffett pour protéger et défendre l'espèce. Aujourd'hui, Save the Manatee Club est la principale organisation mondiale de conservation des lamantins. Pour en savoir plus sur la principale voix mondiale des lamantins, visitez savethemanatee.org

Defenders of Wildlife célèbre 75 ans de protection de tous les animaux et plantes indigènes dans leurs communautés naturelles. Avec un réseau national de près de 2,2 millions de membres et militants, Defenders of Wildlife est l’un des principaux défenseurs des solutions innovantes visant à sauvegarder notre patrimoine faunique pour les générations à venir. Pour plus d’informations, visitez Defenders.org/newsroom et suivez-nous sur Twitter @Defenders.

Nouvelles plus récentes

Father's Day 2024

Pour le papa à vos côtés à chaque marée

Vous cherchez un cadeau parfait pour montrer votre appréciation pour la fête des pères ? Ne cherchez pas plus loin qu’un lamantin du programme Adopt-A-Manatee® du Save the Manatee Club.

Manatees are herbivores, feeding on both marine and freshwater aquatic vegetation such as seagrass and other submerged, floating, and emergent plants.

Le mois de sensibilisation aux herbiers marins place une source de nourriture essentielle pour les lamantins sur le devant de la scène

Mars est le mois de la sensibilisation aux herbiers marins, et il n’y a jamais eu de moment plus critique pour appeler chacun à contribuer à la santé de ces écosystèmes vitaux.

Mothers Day 2024

Célébrez des moments, célébrez maman en adoptant un lamantin

À l'approche de la fête des mères, Save the Manatee Club offre un cadeau significatif qui célèbre tous les types de mamans et soutient les efforts de conservation des lamantins.

News

Legal Agreement Will Protect Critical Habitat for Threatened Florida Manatee

An image showing the Florida subspecies of the West Indian manatee.

Federal Officials Agree Manatee Habitat Needs Protection

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE—June 1, 2022
Contact:
Ragan Whitlock, Center for Biological Diversity, (727) 426-3653, rwhitlock@biologicaldiversity.org
Jake Bleich, Defenders of Wildlife, (202) 772-3208, jbleich@defenders.org
Patrick Rose, Save the Manatee Club, (850) 570-1373, prose@savethemanatee.org

ST. PETERSBURG, Fla.— In a legal agreement with the Center for Biological Diversity, Defenders of Wildlife and Save the Manatee Club, the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service has committed to revise critical habitat for the Florida manatee by September 2024. The manatee’s critical habitat has not been updated since its original designation in 1976.

“Safeguarding the places where manatees live will help put these incredibly imperiled animals back on a path toward recovery,” said Ragan Whitlock, a Florida-based attorney at the Center. “Protecting the habitat of these magnificent creatures is long overdue, but we’re happy these safeguards will soon be in place.”

A record-setting 1,100 Florida manatees died in 2021, mostly because of starvation caused by water pollution in the Indian River Lagoon. This trend has continued into 2022, as the Florida manatee continues to face significant threats to its survival in the lagoon and throughout Florida, where harmful algae blooms and the loss of seagrass and warm-water refuges continue to shrink its habitat.

“This agreement is a vital first step toward ending the mass manatee deaths that have become all too common along Florida’s coasts,” said Jane Davenport, senior attorney at Defenders of Wildlife. “Once the species’ current critical habitat is identified, we’re hopeful that federal, state, and private conservation partners can take decisive action to put the manatee back on the road to recovery.”

“The Service has delayed revising critical habitat for a decade, and now the manatee’s predicament is so dire that revising critical habitat can no longer be put on the back burner,” said Pat Rose, Executive Director of Save the Manatee Club. “We are pleased that FWS is finally willing to take this essential step to save our imperiled manatees and hope this signals a shift in prioritizing manatee survival and recovery.”

The Center, along with Save the Manatee Club, Wildlife Advocacy Project and Defenders of Wildlife, petitioned the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service in 2008 to revise critical habitat for the Florida manatee. The Service found that revisions to critical habitat were warranted in January 2010 but failed to act for more than 12 years. The Center, Save the Manatee Club and Defenders of Wildlife filed suit in February 2022 seeking this action.

Animals with federally protected critical habitat are more than twice as likely to be moving toward recovery than species without it. Federal agencies that fund or permit projects in critical habitat are required to consult with the Service to ensure this habitat is not harmed or destroyed by their actions.

###

The Center for Biological Diversity is a national, nonprofit conservation organization with more than 1.7 million members and online activists dedicated to the protection of endangered species and wild places.

Save the Manatee Club is an international nonprofit based in Florida with its mission to protect manatees and their aquatic habitat for future generations. The Club was founded in 1981 by former Florida Governor and U.S. Senator Bob Graham and singer-songwriter Jimmy Buffett to protect and advocate on behalf of the species. Today, Save the Manatee Club is the world’s leading manatee conservation organization. To learn more about the world’s leading voice for manatees, visit savethemanatee.org

Defenders of Wildlife is celebrating 75 years of protecting all native animals and plants in their natural communities. With a nationwide network of nearly 2.2 million members and activists, Defenders of Wildlife is a leading advocate for innovative solutions to safeguard our wildlife heritage for generations to come. For more information, visit defenders.org/newsroom and follow us on Twitter @Defenders.

More Recent News

Father's Day 2024

For The Dad By Your Side Through Every Tide

Looking for a perfect gift to show your appreciation this Father’s Day? Look no further than a manatee from Save the Manatee Club’s Adopt-A-Manatee® program.

Manatees are herbivores, feeding on both marine and freshwater aquatic vegetation such as seagrass and other submerged, floating, and emergent plants.

Seagrass Awareness Month Brings Critical Food Source for Manatees to Center Stage

March is Seagrass Awareness Month, and there has never been a more critical time to call for everyone to contribute to the health of these vital ecosystems.

Mothers Day 2024

Celebrate Moments, Celebrate Mom By Adopting A Manatee

With Mother’s Day around the corner, Save the Manatee Club offers a meaningful gift that celebrates every kind of mom and supports manatee conservation efforts.