Nouvelles

Sa fierté et sa joie : Adoptez un lamantin® pour la fête des mères

A photo of the Mother's Day Charm, which features a manatee-shaped charm, a heart-shaped charm with "Save the Manatee" written in script, attached to a claw-style clasp.

POUR DIFFUSION IMMÉDIATE—26 avril 2
Contact: media@savethemanatee.org, 407-539-0990

MAITLAND, FL—Vous cherchez un cadeau unique pour la fête des mères ? Pourquoi pas Adoptez un lamantin du club Save the Manatee®? Maman recevra un certificat d'adoption personnalisé et une biographie d'un vrai lamantin. C'est une excellente façon de montrer votre appréciation tout en contribuant à protéger les lamantins pour les générations à venir.

Tous les lamantins du programme Adopt-A-Manatee sont des lamantins vivants étudiés par des équipes de recherche en Floride et ont des histoires connues qui sont retracées par des matriarches féminines. Un adopté populaire est Annie, un lamantin très attentionné qui met bas presque tous les deux ans depuis 2012 ! Elle a maintenant six petits, la plus récente étant une femelle née au parc d'État de Blue Spring le 17 mars 2023. Une autre est Lis, qui revient à Blue Spring chaque année depuis 1974 et a eu au moins 10 petits. Les veaux restent généralement avec leur mère pendant un à deux ans avant d'être sevrés, période pendant laquelle ils allaitent, apprennent à trouver de l'eau douce et des sites d'eau chaude en hiver et à naviguer dans les cours d'eau.

Chaque adoption symbolique de lamantin commence à $25 et comprend une adhésion d'un an au Save the Manatee Club. Les membres reçoivent une newsletter trimestrielle, La zone des lamantins, avec des mises à jour sur les lamantins adoptables et des informations supplémentaires importantes sur les lamantins. Pour une durée limitée, les adoptions pour la Fête des Mères au niveau Ami ($35) ou supérieur incluent également un adorable charme de lamantin. Merci de commander avant le lundi 1er mai pour une livraison avant la fête des mères. Les certificats d'adoption personnalisés sont envoyés instantanément par courrier électronique, les adoptions de lamantins constituent donc un excellent cadeau de dernière minute !

Les fonds du programme Adopt-A-Manatee soutiennent directement Save the Manatee Club dans sa mission de protection des lamantins et de leur habitat, y compris les efforts de sauvetage d'urgence, de réhabilitation et de libération ; programmes d'éducation et de sensibilisation du public; et d'autres travaux essentiels pour répondre aux crise actuelle de mortalité des lamantins dans la lagune d'Indian River. Pour adopter un lamantin, visitez savethemanatee.org/adopt ou appeler 1-800-432-JOIN (5646).

###

Save the Manatee Club, créé en 1981 par le célèbre auteur-compositeur-interprète, auteur et entrepreneur Jimmy Buffett, ainsi que par l'ancien gouverneur de Floride et sénateur américain Bob Graham, se consacre à la sauvegarde des lamantins et à la préservation de leur habitat aquatique. Pour plus d'informations sur les lamantins et les efforts du Club, visitez savethemanatee.org ou appeler 1-800-432-JOIN (5646).

Nouvelles plus récentes

Father's Day 2024

Pour le papa à vos côtés à chaque marée

Vous cherchez un cadeau parfait pour montrer votre appréciation pour la fête des pères ? Ne cherchez pas plus loin qu’un lamantin du programme Adopt-A-Manatee® du Save the Manatee Club.

Manatees are herbivores, feeding on both marine and freshwater aquatic vegetation such as seagrass and other submerged, floating, and emergent plants.

Le mois de sensibilisation aux herbiers marins place une source de nourriture essentielle pour les lamantins sur le devant de la scène

Mars est le mois de la sensibilisation aux herbiers marins, et il n’y a jamais eu de moment plus critique pour appeler chacun à contribuer à la santé de ces écosystèmes vitaux.

Mothers Day 2024

Célébrez des moments, célébrez maman en adoptant un lamantin

À l'approche de la fête des mères, Save the Manatee Club offre un cadeau significatif qui célèbre tous les types de mamans et soutient les efforts de conservation des lamantins.

News

Her Pride And Joy: Adopt-A-Manatee® This Mother’s Day

A photo of the Mother's Day Charm, which features a manatee-shaped charm, a heart-shaped charm with "Save the Manatee" written in script, attached to a claw-style clasp.

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE—April 26, 2
Contact: media@savethemanatee.org, 407-539-0990

MAITLAND, FL—Looking for a unique Mother’s Day gift? Why not Adopt-A-Manatee from Save the Manatee® Club? Mom will receive a personalized adoption certificate and a biography of a real-life manatee. It’s a great way to show your appreciation while also helping to protect manatees for generations to come.

All manatees in the Adopt-A-Manatee program are living manatees studied by research teams in Florida and have known histories that are traced through female matriarchs. One popular adoptee is Annie, a very nurturing manatee who has given birth nearly every two years since 2012! She has now had six calves, most recently a female that was born at Blue Spring State Park on March 17, 2023. Another is Lily, who has returned to Blue Spring each year since 1974 and has had at least 10 calves. Calves usually stay with their mother for one to two years before being weaned, during which time they nurse, learn how to find fresh water and winter warm-water sites, and navigate the waterways.

Each symbolic manatee adoption starts at $25 and includes a one-year Save the Manatee Club membership. Members receive a quarterly newsletter, The Manatee Zone, with updates on adoptable manatees and additional important manatee information. For a limited time, Mother’s Day adoptions at the Friend level ($35) or above also include an adorable manatee charm. Please order by Monday, May 1 for delivery by Mother’s Day. Personalized adoption certificates are emailed instantly, so manatee adoptions make a great last-minute gift!

Funds from the Adopt-A-Manatee program directly support Save the Manatee Club in its mission to protect manatees and their habitat, including emergency rescue, rehabilitation, and release efforts; education and public awareness programs; and other critical work to address the ongoing manatee mortality crisis in the Indian River Lagoon. To Adopt-A-Manatee, visit savethemanatee.org/adopt or call 1-800-432-JOIN (5646).

###

Save the Manatee Club, established in 1981 by the late renowned singer-songwriter, author, and entrepreneur Jimmy Buffett, along with former Florida Governor and U.S. Senator Bob Graham, is dedicated to safeguarding manatees and preserving their aquatic habitat. For more information about manatees and the Club’s efforts, visit savethemanatee.org or call 1-800-432-JOIN (5646).

More Recent News

Silver Springs Webcams 180 Smc

Save the Manatee® Club Launches Brand New Webcams at Silver Springs State Park

Save the Manatee Club has launched a brand-new set of underwater and above-water webcams at Silver Springs State Park in Ocala, FL.

A public service advertisement from Save the Manatee Club with the text: Spring Forth: Adopt-A-Manatee

Spring Forth and Save the Manatees!

Spring forth and make a difference this season by adopting a manatee through Save the Manatee Club’s Adopt-A-Manatee® program.

A webcam screenshot showing several manatees swimming through a freshwater spring.

Temperatures drop in Central Florida, manatees seek refuge at Blue Spring State Park

As temperatures plummet in Central Florida this weekend, the number of manatees seeking refuge at Blue Spring State Park is expected to rise.