Nouvelles

Célébrer les herbiers marins tout au long du mois 

SMC staff and volunteers worked with Brevard Zoo's Restore Our Shores initiative to construct seagrass exclusion devices to protect growing vegetation.
Le personnel et les bénévoles du SMC ont travaillé avec l'initiative Restore Our Shores du zoo de Brevard pour construire des dispositifs d'exclusion des herbiers marins afin de protéger la végétation en croissance.

Par Stephanie Cohen, spécialiste des relations publiques

Le mois de mars a été marqué par un raz-de-marée d'enthousiasme alors que le Mois de sensibilisation aux herbiers marins a rassemblé des individus, des organisations et des communautés pour célébrer et défendre le rôle vital des herbiers marins dans nos écosystèmes marins. Des webinaires informatifs aux projets de restauration pratiques, le mois a été un voyage rempli d'éducation et d'action pour la source de nourriture essentielle des lamantins.

Stephanie Cohen, spécialiste des relations publiques de SMC, assiste à une célébration de la Journée mondiale des herbiers marins au zoo de Brevard pour promouvoir l'éducation sur les lamantins et les herbiers marins.

Le Mois de sensibilisation aux herbiers marins a débuté avec la célébration de la Journée mondiale des herbiers marins au zoo de Brevard le 1er mars. Les visiteurs, dont une pléthore de groupes scolaires, ont été accueillis au zoo avec des expositions éducatives et interactives axées sur les herbiers marins pour l'occasion spéciale. Save the Manatee Club était présent avec une table axée sur le fait de ne pas utiliser d'engrais pour les lamantins.

Tiare Fridrich, biologiste des lamantins du SMC, organise un webinaire pour offrir un aperçu pédagogique des herbiers marins.

Le mois comprenait également un webinaire public spécial sur les herbiers marins et les lamantins. Organisé par notre biologiste des lamantins, Tiare Fridrich, et l'associée principale en science et conservation, le Dr Beth Brady, le webinaire visait à sensibiliser à l'importance écologique des herbiers marins et aux menaces auxquelles ils sont confrontés, en mettant l'accent sur le fait qu'ils constituent une source de nourriture essentielle pour les lamantins. Vous pouvez regarder le webinaire enregistré sur savethemanatee.org/webinaire.  

Le mois s'est terminé lorsque les mains se sont sales et que les cœurs se sont impliqués, alors que des bénévoles ont participé à la construction de dispositifs d'exclusion pour le projet de restauration des herbiers marins Restore Our Shores du zoo de Brevard. Ces dispositifs visent à protéger les herbiers marins nouvellement plantés du surpâturage par les herbivores, contribuant ainsi à la récupération et à l’expansion de ces écosystèmes sous-marins. Notre équipe de bénévoles a fabriqué avec succès plus de 50 de ces appareils !

Nouvelles plus récentes

The river temperature dropped to 57.6° F on January 22, 2024, causing 717 manatees to turn up for the count! Aqua was among them, and we managed to get this sweet photo of her during her visit.

Mise à jour des observations de lamantins : avril 2024

Quelques vagues de froid plus tôt en 2024 ont conduit à un rassemblement d'un grand nombre de lamantins au parc d'État de Blue Spring. Recevez la dernière mise à jour des observations !

Staff members Shelby and Kayleigh & volunteer Austin at our Manatee Store booth at Valentine Park during the Orange City Blue Spring Manatee Festival.

Les bénévoles de Manateam brillent lors des événements communautaires

De l’accueil de nouveaux bénévoles à la collecte de fonds et à l’éducation des festivaliers, notre équipe de bénévoles brille ! Joignez-vous à nous pour célébrer leur dévouement !

Logan McCool pictured with a manatee plush at Save the Manatee Club’s headquarters in Longwood.

Pleins feux sur la collecte de fonds : Rencontrez Logan McCool

A tout juste 7 ans, Logan McCool est passionné par les lamantins et confectionne des bracelets pour récolter des fonds pour ces gentils géants.

News

Celebrating Seagrass All Month Long 

SMC staff and volunteers worked with Brevard Zoo's Restore Our Shores initiative to construct seagrass exclusion devices to protect growing vegetation.
SMC staff and volunteers worked with Brevard Zoo's Restore Our Shores initiative to construct seagrass exclusion devices to protect growing vegetation.

By Stephanie Cohen, Public Relations Specialist

March has seen a tidal wave of enthusiasm as Seagrass Awareness Month brought individuals, organizations, and communities together to celebrate and advocate for the vital role of seagrasses in our marine ecosystems. From informative webinars to hands-on restoration projects, the month was a journey filled with education and action for manatees’ critical food source.

SMC’s Public Relations Specialist, Stephanie Cohen, attends a celebration of World Seagrass Day at Brevard Zoo to promote education on manatees and seagrass.

Seagrass Awareness Month kicked off with a celebration of World Seagrass Day at the Brevard Zoo on March 1. Visitors, including a plethora of school groups, were welcomed to the zoo with educational and interactive displays focused on seagrass for the special occasion. Save the Manatee Club was present with a table focusing on being Fertilizer-Free for Manatees.

SMC’s Manatee Biologist, Tiare Fridrich, hosts a webinar to provide an educational look at seagrasses.

The month also included a special public webinar on seagrass and manatees. Hosted by our Manatee Biologist, Tiare Fridrich, and Senior Science and Conservation Associate, Dr. Beth Brady, the webinar aimed to raise awareness about the ecological importance of seagrasses and the threats they face with a focus on being a critical food source for manatees. You can watch the recorded webinar at savethemanatee.org/webinar.  

The month concluded when hands got dirty, and hearts got involved, as volunteers participated in building exclusion devises for the Brevard Zoo’s Restore Our Shores seagrass restoration project. These devices aim to protect newly planted seagrass beds from overgrazing by herbivores, ultimately contributing to the recovery and expansion of these underwater ecosystems. Our team of volunteers successfully made over 50 of these devices!

More Recent News

Phyllis was seen by researchers at Blue Spring State Park on April 2024.

Manatee Sighting Update: June 2024

During the summer months, manatees disperse from their winter aggregation sites, so sightings of manatees are less frequent; however, a few have been spotted!

Save the Manatee Club staff and volunteers after building seagrass exclusion devices with Brevard Zoo Restore Our Shores.

Earth Day Highlights and Volunteer Appreciation

We had an unexpected surge of activity during Volunteer Appreciation Month and Earth Month, celebrating volunteers and raising awareness for manatees!

Summer Reading Books

Splash into Summer Reading with Manatees 

Summer is the perfect time to dive into a book about manatees! We’ve created a Manatee Book List that offers a range of engaging reads for all ages.